WIN MAGMA Opportunity Detroit Tech Advanced MI Manufacturing MiBright Future

Michigan Schools & Government Credit Union Award Scholarships

Participating MI Bright Future organization Michigan Schools & Government Credit Union has awarded $67,500 in scholarship money to local students and educators. Read below to learn more about the awards and their recipients. Congratulations to all those who were selected!


MSGCU Awards $67,500 in Scholarships to Students and Educators

“Intelligence plus character – that is the goal of true education.”

– Martin Luther King, Jr.

CLINTON TOWNSHIP, Mich., April 24, 2017 – Education is an essential tool that provides a foundation for growing and developing. It shapes the minds of today’s learners as they become tomorrow’s leaders. A college degree is an important component of the learning journey and Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union (MSGCU) is proud to annually award scholarships to help students and educators in these academic pursuits.

MSGCU received more than 300 scholarship applications from more than 80 high schools as well as other academic institutions in Michigan. The caliber of the applicants and their accomplishments was inspiring.

After careful review and consideration, MSGCU is pleased to award $67,500 in scholarships to 25 students and two educators. Scholarship honorees are from 20 local high schools and two in-state colleges. Each recipient will receive a one-time award of $2,500 and all will be honored at a private reception on Tuesday, June 6. Members of the MSGCU management team and Board of Directors are scheduled to participate in the celebration.

“The accomplishments of our honorees are truly impressive,” said MSGCU President and CEO Peter Gates. “These individuals exemplify ambition, dedication, compassion and academic excellence, which are the hallmarks of the MSGCU Scholarships Program. We are proud to support them in their future academic endeavors.”

The Scholarship Recipients

The Rudolph Heino Scholarship was created in honor of Rudolph Heino, a long-time MSGCU Board Member who strongly upheld the “people helping people” philosophy. The scholarship is designed to help students who demonstrate an enthusiasm and commitment to learning and a clear, visionary path for their future.

The five recipients of the Rudolph Heino Scholarship are:

  • Brendan DeSantis (Warren): De La Salle Collegiate High School
  • Kristen Ewald (Oxford): Oxford Schools Early College
  • Stephen Gaedcke (Clinton Township): International Academy of Macomb
  • Giancarlo Tucci-Berube (Bloomfield Hills): Bloomfield Hills High School
  • Alyssa Ziemianski (Clinton Township): Chippewa Valley High School

The Larry Swantek Educational Studies Scholarship was created in honor of Larry Swantek, a retired MSGCU Board Member who was a teacher for more than 25 years. He embraced his role as an educator and influenced thousands of students both in and out of the classroom.

The two recipients of the Larry Swantek Educational Studies Scholarship are:

  • Julia Barraco (Macomb): Macomb Community College
  • Chelsea Zimmerman (Clinton Township): Wayne State University

The Educational Solutions Scholarship focuses on the power of education and its ability to change lives for the better. Applicants are asked to share how education has impacted them and also provide a letter of recommendation from a teacher.

The 18 recipients of the Educational Solutions Scholarship are:

  • Abigail Allmacher (Shelby Township): Eisenhower High School
  • Georgina Broyles (New Haven): Merritt Academy High School
  • Anthony Campana (Clawson): Clawson High School
  • Mackenzie Connell (Sterling Heights): Utica Academy for International Studies
  • Teresa Czeiszperger (Clinton Township): International Academy of Macomb
  • Lolly Duus (Grosse Pointe Woods): Grosse Pointe North High School
  • Charles Fromm (Utica): Utica High School
  • Abigail Girardot (Center Line): Center Line High School
  • Emma Harris (Royal Oak): Royal Oak High School
  • James Holman (Clinton Township): International Academy of Macomb
  • Kyle Masiak (Clinton Township): Chippewa Valley High School
  • Amulya Parmar (Bloomfield Hills): International Academy
  • Emily Pokorski (Clinton Township): Chippewa Valley High School
  • Julia Sayles (Macomb): Dakota High School
  • Shreya Subramanian (Troy): Troy High School
  • Kathryn Wagner (Auburn Hills): Avondale High School
  • Eleri Watkins (Troy): Troy Athens High School
  • Kyle Wierszewski (Armada): Armada High School

The Educator Advantage Scholarship was introduced in 2015 in honor of MSGCU’s 60th anniversary. The scholarship is designed to help educators in their continuing education pursuits and assist in the increasing of knowledge and skills that are key in an evolving academic environment.

The two recipients of the Educator Advantage Scholarship are:

  • Kristy Pierce, Teacher/Student Council Advisor, Troy Athens High School
  • Dayna Polehanki, Teacher/Data Coordinator, New Haven High School

About Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union

MSGCU has been providing quality financial services to the community for more than 60 years. Founded by a small group of educators, MSGCU offers a full range of loan, savings and investment, checking, credit card, mortgage and insurance products for consumers and businesses. In 2016, MSGCU received a number of awards recognizing its active involvement in community Giving Back and Education/Workshop programs. With 13 offices in Macomb, Oakland and Wayne Counties, MSGCU has more than 110,000 members, $1.7 billion in assets, and has earned 97% member satisfaction ratings for the past ten years. MSGCU has also earned five stars, as reported by Bauer Financial, for more than 20 years, and has been honored as a Top Workplace by The Detroit Free Press four years in a row.